A Standing Committee of management was formed by the QCSFA in 1970 and the Referees then became a Sub-Committee of the controlling body. The first President of the sub-committee after elections in 1971 was Stan Thompson, and the Secretary was Ron Curtis.

In 1972, after Stan resigned, Don Mackenzie was elected President. This situation continued until the end of the 1973 season. In February 1974, with the help of the Reverend Les Tilse, who was Standing Committee chairman at the time, we the Referees formed an autonomous organization which was named the QLD. Churches Soccer Referees association (QCSRA) with a signed agreement between the QCSRA and the QLD Churches Soccer Football Association (QCSFA) on the 3rd of May 1974.

The first elected members were;

  • D Mackenzie - President

  • R Curtis - Secretary

  • G Nicholson - Treasurer

  • B Fry - Coach

The senior members in the first season were: B Maroschek, R Biziorek, D Richter, A Kinsela, A Bryant & A Holland. The first junior’s members were: N Lever, T Armbruster, P Sparkes, C Saunders, G Saunders & S Donald.

Since the associations humble beginnings, the QCSRA has grown to be the largest referee association under the Christian Football Federation Australia's banner with our referees continually setting higher and higher standards at the CFFA national titles. As of 2021, the QCSRA will be the second largest member zone under the Football Queensland banner, with over 170 active referees and 16 qualified match coaches.